Split Storytelling with The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors

As soon as I got The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt and Adam Rex in and read it, I knew I had to find a way to share it with my kids. The book i51sgwzqf3hl-_sx258_bo1204203200_s a long one. It has three separate storylines and a conclusion storyline. It also has a lot of dialog bubbles, which I sometimes find confusing during a read aloud.

Ideally, this is a book that I’d like to share with school age kids. Unfortunately, I only see the school age kids once a year to talk about SRP. So, the oldest group I was likely going to be able to share it with would be preschool. I’m usually up for a storytime challenge and I’m always willing to try a different approach to a book, song, or activity. If it doesn’t work out, we learn and move on to the next awesome thing. Failure is so, so useful.

Ordinarily, I share two books with my preschool group and mix in our songs, fingerplays, and movement activities between stories. Since this book is so long, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to share it and then read another story. It’s just too much for the kids to sit through and I always err on the side of a shorter storytime when I have a choice.

Even if I only read this, though, this book is LOOOOOOONG. Too long for preschool kids in a single sitting. So, I decided to break things up. We read Rock’s story and then we paused for Zoom, Zoom, Zoom. We came back and I asked them to briefly summarize Rock’s story (working on those pre-reading comprehension, communication, and pattern recognition skills) and then we moved on to Paper’s narrative. We paused after that to do Five Fat Peas and then we moved on to Scissor’s story. After Scissor, we took a few moments to really get the wiggles out with Knife, Fork, Spoon, Spatula, though I will say that the kids were getting less restless than I thought they would at that point in the program. We finished the book with the bang, took a moment to talk about it together, and then sang our goodbye song before moving into the free play segment of the program.

All told, I think it worked out very nicely. This is a book that both caregivers and kids enjoy and funny in a way that’s accessible to kids while being genuinely entertaining for adults as well. I highly recommend the book and this program set up–it worked wonders for us!

Leave a Reply

