Bookish Academy Awards 2017

Today I’m doing the Bookish Academy Awards tag! I saw this floating around YouTube and since I don’t do YouTube because I’m terrible at it, I figured I’d give it a go on this blog.

If you don’t know how the tag works, you essentially take the Oscar categories and replace the movies with books you’ve read in the past year. I’ve talked pretty expensively about books that I read in 2016, so I’m also including books that I’ve read so far this year.

Best Actor (Best Male Protagonist): Rhysand from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. No character will ever replace this dear man in my opinion. He is just wonderfully and complexly written. If you haven’t read this book series yet, even if you don’t like romance, I’d say give it a go.

Best Actress (Best Female Protagonist): Catherine from Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I didn’t actually realize that this was an origin story until about 3/4 of the way through the book so I had no idea what conclusion we were moving toward. Watching Catherine experience so much loss and seeing her transform throughout the book was awesome.

Best Cinematography (Best Plot Twist): Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I mean, the entire story is one massive plot twist after another. And it’s so well done. Even if (and I mean if) you see a twist coming, it’s written so well that it remains emotionally impactful.

Best Costume Design (Best Book Cover): The Night Gardener by Johnathan Auxier. I love anything shiny on books and this one has a big shiny monster guy! And a creepy tree! What’s not to love here?

Best Supporting Actress and Actor (Best Female and Male Sidekick): I’m going to go with Mor from A Court of Mist and Fury and Noah from The Raven King who, despite being a main character during the preceding three books, was definitely a sidekick in this installment.

Best Originial Screenplay (Most Unique Plot/World): This one goes to A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab, hands down.

Best Animated Feature (Book that Would Work Well in Animated Format): The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. I didn’t like this book but I honestly played the whole thing out in my head as if it actually were in animation.

Best Visual Effects (Best Action in a Book): This might be a bit of a cop out since this book is a true story, but I just have to go with Red Platoon by Clinton Romesha. I’ve spoken about this book many times before and likely will do so again in the future. It deserves all the awards, frankly.

Best Director (Author You Discovered for the First Time): I’m giving this one to Ben Hatke. I’m not a huge graphic novel reader (though I have been reading more recently) but I read several of his novels this year that I really liked. I can’t wait to see what else he comes out with.

Best Picture (Best Book): I had a three way tie for best book last year but two of the books have won other awards on this list so I’ll give this award, the award of all awards, to All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

