Spookathon Wrap Up

If you’ve been a reader of my blog for a while, you already know that I am absolutely terrible at following through with read-a-thons. Terrible. I love the premise. I follow the challenges, pick my books, and imagine a world in which I read like crazy and share my thoughts with fellow participants. I get the books from work (aka the library), go home, and promptly read something absolutely unrelated to whatever read-a-thon I’m supposed to be participating in. Every single time. I’m not kidding when I say that I have a 100% read-a-thon failure rate. Until now!

I didn’t even mean to participate in Spookathon. Books and LaLa is one of my favorite BookTubers and so, naturally, I heard about the read-a-thon through her. I had zero intention of actually participating, but, it turns out, I had a bit of happy accident. It’s October, so I’m reading spooky stuff anyway. After a pretty long reading slump, I managed to read 2.5 books which just happen to satisfy the challenges. Awesome! Here is what the challenges were:

  • Read a thriller
  • Read a book with red on the cover
  • Read a book with a spooky word in the cover
  • Read a 2016 release
  • Read a book with a paranormal character/characters

And here’s what I read:

22299763   13057003-_uy200_   18405537

  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  • Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  • The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

Crooked Kingdom fulfills 3/5 challenges, Anna Dressed in Blood fulfills 2/5 of the challenges as does The Night Gardener. Boom! Take that, awesome read-a-thon. I still have to finish The Night Gardener and read Scowler by Halloween and I will have reached my personal goal of the things that I really, really wanted to read during this time of year.

Leave a Reply

