On My Radar: All Hallows Read

On the first of October every year, I celebrate. My Halloween obsession makes October the month that I look forward to as soon as the clock strikes midnight on November 1st. But it’s not just Halloween that I love about October. It means that I have, officially, survived yet another sweltering, miserable summer and that winter is on its way. Some people see Thanksgiving as the beginning of the holiday season, but I think things really kick off in October and last until January.

It’s raining and chilly today here in Northern Virginia. Basically, it’s the perfect gloomy fall day and it has me thinking about the books that I plan to read this month. As always, this list is a fluid guideline and I am very likely going to deviate from it. Nevertheless, this is what I have my eye on this month.

It goes without saying that I’ll be trying to read mostly horror and thriller books this month. I try to save all of the scary books that I hear about throughout the year for this month. This inevitably means that some books get left out but, hey, I do what I can. Without further ado, here’s the list:

Picture books: Little Frog and the Scary Autumn Thing by Jane Yolen, illustrated by Ellen Shi

Juvenile/ middle grade: The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

YA: Scowler by Daniel Kraus

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Furthermore by Tehereh Mafi

Adult: Pet Cemetery by Stephen King

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh

Leave a Reply

